Thursday, May 01, 2008

Facebook ...

Has anyone else tried to remove their information from Facebook?

They will only de-activate it.
They tell you that this is so that you can go back live on Facebook anytime you want ...

I changed as much of my information as I could, removing what was possible but it's like pulling your leg out of a bear-trap.

I'm really annoyed.

5 comments:

furiousBall said...

i bet if you made it profane they'd take it down

Di Mackey said...

i may have made my new gmail address a little profane just for them ... although i suspect it's not worthy of the word 'profane'.

the more i thought about the word 'profane' the more i liked it ... i've never known anyone who used it before :)

it's a pity you couldn't leave that comment as a voice message. i think i might have laughed.

Manictastic said...

Try sending an email to their support team. Normally you can deactivate through that.

Di Mackey said...

Thanks Manic but I can deactivate, I just can't erase my information.

Blogger has a 'delete this blog' option ... I wanted that option on Facebook.

Matthew said...

Facebook are famously arrogant. They recently tried publishing people's purchases through partner companies on the Facebook news feed. What a spectacular breach of privacy -- aside from the chilling implications for friend present buying. I think Facebook have stumbled on a popular app more by blind luck than ethics and good planning.